Wednesday, May 4, 2011

David Gemmell Legend Award Finalists Announced

This year's slate of finalists for the David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2010 have been announced:
  •  Towers of Midnight by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan (Tor/Orbit)
  • The Alchemist in the Shadows by Pierre Pevel (Gollancz)
  • The War of the Dwarves by Marcus Heitz (Orbit)
  • The Black Prism by Brent Weeks (Orbit)
  • The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson (Tor/Gollancz)
  • The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett (Voyager)
Named after the late David Gemmell, the award aims to recognize excellence in the fantasy field.  The main page of the award is here.

Also announced are the finalists for the Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer/Debut and the finalists for the Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Book Jacket/Artist.

The nominees for the Morningstar Award are:

  • Spellwright by Charlton Blake (Tor)
  • Warrior Priest by Darius Hinks (The Black Library)
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by M. K. Jemison (Orbit)
  • Shadow Prowler by Alexy Pehov (Tor)
  • Tymon's Flight by Mary Victoria (Harper Collins Australia)

The finalists for the Ravenheart Award are:

  • Olof Erla Einarsdottir - Power & Majesty
  • Todd Lockwood - The Ragged Man
  • Cliff Neilsen - The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
  • John Sullivan - Shadow King
  • Frank Victoria - Tymon's Flight
A complete list of all nominees for the Gemmell, Morningstar, and Ravenheart Awards can be found here, here, and here, respectively.

Congratulations to all nominees, especially the finalists.

No comments:

Post a Comment